Allow myself to introduce myself

16 01 2010

I would like to start this blog off by talking about my background. I am leaving out a lot of personal details because this is not what this blog is about…so here goes!

I was born Manila, Philippines and lived there for the first 8 years of my life. I moved to New York not knowing how to speak a word of this new language I was surrounded by. It was winter time in New York and I come from a place that does not have a winter time. Everything was foreign. The city life, the people, the climate, the language, everything! I would watch kiddie shows and not know what is going on. I would assume what a commercial is about based completely on visuals – sometimes my guesses would be so far fetched to what is actually happening or being spoken about. I scored a 7 on my first spelling test in the 3rd grade. My parents enrolled me at the local Catholic school in the middle of the school year. My first day happened to be during a spelling test day. I moved to a public school when I learned to speak the language better and when my parents were finally fed up with the continued tuition increase every year. I went to high school in Jamaica. My memories of high school weren’t so fond. I enlisted with the US Navy before even finishing my senior year – it’s called the Delayed Entry Program or DEP. All it does is make it quicker for the recruiter to send me to basic training as soon as I graduate from high school. Basic training was fun. I then spent an additional three months to learn my Navy job and then it was off to Japan.

Japan was great. It was a love/hate thing. I loved the location, hated the job. I’m glad I toughed it out and felt adventurous the day they asked where I want to be stationed. After honorably discharging, I knew I wanted to go back to school but I didn’t know what kind of job I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I enrolled to become a forensic science major in John Jay. That was a fail. I transferred to Binghamton University as a business major. I fared better but I slowly realized there wasn’t enough passion backing me up with this. It was too late now. By the time I’ve come to that realization, I’ve spent so much time with the classes I’ve taken and I didn’t want to be in college. I was old enough and didn’t want to die in college. There’s a business jargon for this. It’s a word that describes an investment that investors refuse to let go, though they have been losing significantly from said investment, simply because they’ve invested so much into it already. It’s like that with my finance major. Not knowing this term just shows how much passion I have for it. I hope whatever company hires me never sees this part…

I bought my first SLR camera (Canon 450D) with my tax refund back in February 2009. I haven’t put it down since. I ate, breathed photography. I’ve read many photography websites and became a frequent forum lurker. My first lens was the Canon 50 1.4. I bought a 17-40L, Canon 28 1.8, Canon 70-300 and a Sigma 30 1.4. I’ve sold them all including the Canon 50 1.4 and my 18-55mm kit lens. I only have three lenses right now: Canon 17-55 2.8, Canon 85 1.8 and a Tokina 11-16 2.8. I’ve been using the 17-55 for portraits but I will definitely start using the 85 for head shots. I have three flashes: Canon 580EX II, Canon 430EX II and a 420EX. I plan to buy two more Vivitar DF 383 flash heads. There are a million ways to spend money with photography and that is why I must get a finance job until I get my photography off the ground.

Future plans include owning a studio which I will be using and renting out to other photographers. I want to do weddings, individual shots, group shots, bands and ultimately luxury fashion. It’s going to take a while and a lot has to be proven but I’m going to enjoy every minute of it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

