Scattered

26 01 2010

Lately, I’ve been too busy with trying to find a job while running errands for my family.  And for that I am sorry!

I wish I had a picture to post up and talk about but, still, I’ve been thinking about the pictures I’ve taken so far.  I want to say that I’m still new to the people photography world and that I should continue to experiment and find my niche.  But when is it time to start focusing my work?  If you’ve seen my Flickr account you will notice the very beginning of my photo stream is very random – from flowers to street photography and from squirrels to landscape.  Initially, I didn’t want to remove any non-portrait/strobist work on my photostream because it showed my progress as a photographer.  I wanted to be able to look back and see what interested me at that time and see gradual improvement and stagnant times.  HOWEVER, I’ve been getting more serious and rule #1 when it comes to business is you never show clients or potential clients bad pictures…ever.  I will refer back to this.

So I’ve been reading other photographers’ blogs, looking at their work and trying to guess how photos were lit – a great way to get out of a slump.  One particular photographer has very inspiring work – Stephen Eastwood.  He makes me want to do what he does (commercial beauty photography).  Check him out. Seriously.  He also has a lot of tutorials (including videos) and he talks about why he chose commercial beauty photography.   If you read his bio, he briefly mentions his team – 2 grips to help carry equipment and 2 computer guys.  Stephen brings 5 external hard drives to every photo shoot and he makes a copy of the original files on every single hard drive (redundancy).  As soon as  the pictures are backed up, the other computer guy immediately deletes the bad pictures.  He also quickly retouches photos with potential.  He never shows the model the bad pictures.  A good rule and one that I’ve broken.

Back to original point now.  Should I keep my photostream the way it is or should I refine it to contain only portrait work?  I don’t necessarily think the other pictures are “bad” but, right now, my Flickr is like my photography resume.  When I send my link out to magazines or a fashion agency, I shouldn’t include unrelated work much like I wouldn’t include irrelevant work experience in my resume to the job I am applying for.  The best (but not so attainable/justifiable) solution to this is design a professional website that will only include what precisely what I want it to include.  But if there’s something I learned in finance its “there’s no such thing as free lunch.”  Domain registration will cost me.  Web hosting will cost me.  Web designer will cost me.  And with what financial backing?  I guess I better speed up the job hunt…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

