More equipment talk…

16 02 2010

As you know from my previous post, I’ve gotten rid of my ultra-wide angle lens – Tokina 11-16mm 2.8.  I’ve also sold my Canon 85mm 1.8 lens to fund my purchase of the Canon 85mm 1.2 L II lens!  I have a 450D and not the camera shown but it shows the size of the lens relative to the camera body.  It’s a lot heavier and bulkier (that’s what she said) than the regular non-L version that I’ve sold.  You’re probably wondering what’s the difference between the size and weight so I’ll try to explain a little.  The fact that I’ve gone from a 1.8 to a 1.2 aperture lens means it’s ‘faster.’  It can open up more to allow more light in so it has better low light capability than my old one.  The image quality is slightly better.  The construction build is much better and is weather sealed.  One of the advantage my other lens had was a faster autofocus.

I’ve also bought my first studio light – Alien Bees B800!  The one I have is actually black – not orange.  This is definitely much stronger than my speedlites but obviously not as portable.  If I want to use this outdoors I’d have to buy a portable power solution like their Vagabond II’s.  I still have to buy 1-2 more of these…when I get the funds.

I’m still planning out future photo shoots and if you’d like to schedule one, let me know!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

