Late night updates

18 02 2010

I’m not gonna lie – I’m a little overwhelmed.  I’m trying to plan several shoots, running family errands, interviewing and trying to get my name out there by doing fashion shows.  I don’t know if it just takes getting used to or if I’m spreading myself too thin.  Anyway, I won’t say too much about those shoots, yet.  It’s really great, though.  “From concept to completion.”  I have to think of every photo shoot in that way.  I have to take a holistic approach instead of just focusing on very specific things.  With that said, I’m ready for Spring and Summer.  Also, I read from another photographer that when you’re not doing a photo shoot or processing pictures, you should be marketing.  I’ve been marketing and reading.

I have to mail out a CD containing all the images from the fashion shoot tomorrow.  I’ve waited to mail it out so I can include a few business cards that I hastily designed.  I’m not completely satisfied with them but it’s better than nothing for now.  It has my flickr website on it.  I gave a few to my hair stylist at Shape NYC.  I’m excited to work with her and her salon.  I ordered 250 business cards so hopefully I give most of them away by Summer time because I’m planning on having my own domain name by then (Summer or early Fall).  We’ll see.

I’ve got my eye on the Canon 5D Mk II.  It’s a beast of a camera and has been my dream camera for a while.  I’m trying to plan out how I’m going to finance this purchase…haha.  I’m planning to sell my current Camera which, by the way, has an exact shutter count of 7777.  How crazy is that?  There’s a program that counts how many times the camera’s shutter has clicked.  Used camera buyers usually ask for this number.  It’s like the camera’s mileage.  I bought mine when it had about 3500-4000 clicks.  Since February 2009, I’ve only shot about 3500 photos.  That’s pretty low for an entire year, I think.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 02 2010
jovill

juicey juice! i forgot if i let you know my new blog, but here it is. you actually helped me out figure out what my focus on my blog is. like yours is about photography and ur journey through it, mine is about nursing. whoo-ha! lol. just letting u know this is mine.

hang in there bud. know ur battles (seeing that ur a little overwhelmed)

23 02 2010
jovill

bt-dubs, it’s joan lol

Leave a Reply

